Why is York really sending 5000 students back?

by an anonymous reader

I read your blog regularly and yes, I am one of the ‘fortunate’ students to resume class this Monday. At surface, this seems like an excellent idea with prioritizing education quality and integrity. 

However, nobody seems to think what kind of gain could it possibly achieve ? 

Since all Schulich students and Atkinson students require York courses to graduate / advance to next year – these students cannot either advance to next year OR even graduate. At the end of the day, the other 45,000 students will finish at the exact same time as the 5,000 resuming students. Our Winter term is not even guaranteed at this point. Senate only approved motion for continuation of Fall semester but not the Winter semester. 
So why, really, what is the point of resuming class now?

One answer: Strategic ploy. York University obviously want to provoke the remaining 45,000 students and their parents that school has started for the other remaining 5,000 students because they have little reliance on CUPE 3903 instructors / TAs. Obviously now, they have seen the kind of reaction they are expecting: Angry students demanding equality and thus pressure both the government and the union to do something about it. If forced ratification was their only bullet, then this should be the last punch that could be thrown to the union.

It’s sad however that resuming 5K students to class will have repercussion to students such as:

1. The first implication is that: Obviously, there would be plenty of students who decided not to resume class. I am predicting 5%-10% at the moment for Schulich and even greater for Atkinson. This will force University to provide accomodation and arrangement. This will result in additional cost in hiring lecturers / accomodating two different sections now. 

2. The senate can easily say that they will do whatever it takes to ensure students who don’t go to class will be protected. At the end of the day, uninformed student will decide not go to class? will that student be screwed? most certainly. Now, lets say 

Schulich Fall Term – End in February
Schulich Winter Term – Start in March
Scenario 1: Strike ends in – March
Scenario 2: Strike ends in – mid February

Scenario 1: Then what is going to happen exactly to student who have not even finish their Fall term in Winter?. I cant imagine Schulich School and Atkinson now has to run in double sections for each classes.
Scenario 2: This is even going to be worse since that instructors might not be available to teach the new group of students who just returned to class after strike. What is going to happen to our timetable? (unless Schulich/Atkinson hire new instructors, they cant teach two courses at the same time). Organizing time table will be atotal nightmare.

So as you can see, having students to resume class at this point only creates nothing but unneccessary additional cost and burden. For students, there is no real advantage to return to class at this point. So who really gain at this point? you tell me.

135 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

135 responses to “Why is York really sending 5000 students back?

  1. AB

    It is a brilliant move by York to stir the pot in their favor with the whole equality business. However, I don’t understand the pt. of allowing students to choose whether they want to attend right now or not. That makes no sense whatsoever if I’m in York’s shoes. If York really wanted the hammer stroke to fall hard, why not remove the optional attendance entirely and cement the inequality issue altogether? Would that not crush the Union in a timely fashion as the affected population at large will urge the GOVT to step in? Seeing as most have stood by idly watching YU/CUPE/GOVT have their way with the hostage students, I don’t even see the population voicing the inequality issue that much…

  2. Digital Media Student

    As angry as I am since I’m not one of those “lucky students”…I really don’t think this plan that you speak of by York will really do much. Like by now, students aren’t really going to do much…

    Even IF the students do something, we can only try to encourage, or influence them to maybe stop the strike or come to some kind of agreement. Saying so, even till now some students have been doing that but it’s just not going to work. I know I might be negative here…but even till now nothing is really happening.

    Both sides of the party are complete opposites. What I see though is that York is trying to stall time so maybe to regain some money or something (from a friend I heard, so it’s only rumoured). Plus, CUPE is already getting tired but knowing them…it’s already going into 12 weeks now (right?)…I’m sure that they will try to keep going cause otherwise they would’ve been wasting time.

    Also, I think the for the Schulichers, they’ll be fine with finishing Fall/Winter…since without them York would be like nothing. So in a way, this whole school should be called Schork…

    Aside from that… Schulich has a “reputation” from what I keep hearing…so they have to let them keep going or clearly York would be useless since it’s mainly just kind of like a research school right?

  3. The Ontario Coalition Against Poverty stands behind the striking CUPE 3903 workers until the bitter end, just as you have supported us morally and financially for more than a decade.

    And if the province were to force back to work legislation I hope CUPE 3903 would not follow such undemocratic laws.

  4. Atkinson student

    I’d like to tell OCAP where to stick it. Poverty for the best paid TAs.

    Interesting outlook in this blog. I’m not sure what’s to come of it but if there is a class for me to go to you can sure as hell bet I’ll be there.

  5. Timothy

    I seriously hate it when net picketers waste space on this website.

    CUPE 3903 has severely fucked 50 000+ students over, my internship is in serious jeopardy, my friends who are graduating are still shitting themselves over this strike. I DON’T EVEN HAVE TA’S. Most of my TA’s were severely fucked in the head and or high! SO FUCK THEM. The only two contract faculty profs that I have are dimwits who can’t fucking teach if their life depended on it SO FUCK THEM TOO. Do you think it’s fair to screw over 50 000+ students? OUR LIVES ARE ON HOLD BECAUSE CUPE 3903 IS GREEDY AS HELL. Where do you think this money is going to come from? The university? Where do they get the money from- us STUDENTS. Am I willing to pay more for retarded TAs and dimwitted contract faculty Profs FUCK NO.

  6. MB

    It seems as if the university is creating an even bigger mess by allowing some students back to class while the others wait (not so) patiently on their return. If the other 45 000 students are not back in the next few weeks, will there be two different fall exam periods? Will the winter term start for some students before others finish their fall term?

    WOOSAH!

  7. Meytal

    @ Timothy

    well said. I totally agree! My TA’s are a bunch of a-holes too!

    @ anonymous reader

    Why do you think that such a large percentage (5-10%?) of those “lucky” 5000 won’t go back on Monday? I mean, most students want to go back to school ASAP so why won’t they?

    Thanks!

  8. MB

    I’m an ADMS student and while I’m glad to be back in class on Monday, I don’t think York thought this one through enough….just my opinion.

  9. Its a good thing I only studied my business courses during the strike. And since both my courses (ADMS 1000, ECON 1000) are fall term classes, its good to get it out of the way. Now I only have to worry about my humanities and natural science courses.

  10. ADMS Student in Last Year

    @ OP

    You make valid points about what could happen if some of the 5000 decide not to return and if the remaining 45,000 go back within the next four weeks. I guess we will have to see if this occurs. And if it does, I feel bad for the students who decide not to return, because from what I’ve heard, they will not receive any classes, just the material they missed. It can be expected that their exams will be deffered.

    There isn’t any disadvantage for ADMS students who decide to go back because we’re just finishing out the rest of the fall term. The disadvantage lies with those who don’t (whoever they are).

    @ AB

    I think the reason we have the option of returning is because the picketers might pose a hazard to students. The option is there if you feel like it is too dangerous to return to school during the strike. I’m not sure who would think that though.

    @ Digital Media Student

    I don’t consider ADMS students “lucky”, rather we are caught up in a situation that doesn’t affect our classes. As I posted on a previous board, our contract faculty is not a part of the CUPE 3930. Most, if not all, ADMS courses don’t have a tutorial with a TA, just lectures. On the rare occasion, TA’s will mark our work, however we never meet them and the professor actually reads over the assignment (and sometimes re-grades it) before recording the mark. We have been complaining to the department about this since the beginning of the strike.

  11. Timothy

    @ Vino

    you’re a first yr buddy you are so fucking lucky i would perfer to be in your situation than mine.

  12. caitron

    i really don’t understand the logic behind letting some students in select programs go back… as mentioned, things will be extremely confusing. an additional point to consider is that consecutive education students are being allowed to go back while concurrent students are not. this year (a change from years past) many of the classes are a mixture of both consecutive and concurrent students; the class couldn’t conceivably restart for some students, then have to “catch up” for the rest when all classes resume. on another thread, someone rationalized york’s decision by saying that consecutive education students are trying to apply for jobs right now – that the strike is putting their applications in jeopardy. this arguments doesn’t make sense because concurrent education students in their last year are in the same boat – they are ALSO trying to apply for jobs. luckily, both groups are being allowed to return to their practicum placements, which were suspended during the strike, although the corresponding classes are not being held. this plan really doesn’t make sense……

  13. Tinfoil

    This is actually just a trick by the TAs.

    They’re gonna scope out who crosses the picketline to go take their class(ist)s so when the rest of school resume because a deal is reached later that day, they know who stands where.

    I’m not saying it is right – but you have no idea how subjective your marks actually are.

  14. its not just money

    btw Mr Angry Tim its not just money the TAs want, granted they were asking for a lot in that area. They are really trying for their 2 yr contract. Had the forced vote been on a contract that was basically the same however was only 2 years it would have been accepted. The fact that York is still offering 3 year aggreements shows their unwillingness to conceed anything. York wants to demonize the union and force the government to act and create a precedence in stopping university employees from striking. The union also wants job security which again York refuses to give, this in turn shows York’s unwillingness to settle. Although the Union is being unreasonable in some areas York is being just as in others. This is not solely the Unions fault this is also on York’s shoulders. Learn the facts before you mouth off like an idiot.

  15. Basil El-Salviti

    I don’t understand what the whole point of this piece is? What’s a bunch of angry people going to do…it wont change anything yet. CUPE 3903 didn’t care then, doubt they’d care now.

    Stop speculating. Let’s let the bargaining HAPPEN.

  16. caitron

    @ tinfoil
    aren’t the classes that are resuming the ones NOT taught by CUPE members (or with TAs)? isn’t that why york decided they can resume? how could it be a “trick” by the TAs?

  17. aguyuno

    Caitron is right, that said, those of us who bitch out our TAs when we go back for this… take, for example, that poor kid who’s running yorknothostage. I bet his average drops at least ten points this year.

    “What? You handed in your essay? That’s strange, I can’t seem to find it :-)”

  18. Ms Doan

    wow from Monday onwards….i start to feel like i am going to a private school of 5000 students! what a golden moment!

  19. Timothy

    @ aguyuno

    ‘unfair’ marks can be argued but even then thats still sketchy – your prof could be contract faculty. It could also go to senate as a last resort.

  20. caitron

    @ aguyuno
    hahahaha!!!! 😀

  21. Timothy

    @ ms doan

    do you want a fucking cookie for it?

  22. Timothy

    @ money

    i understand why the university is standing their ground – as much as i want to graduate as soon as possible and get this strike over with i’d hate to be first year or second year student that has already gone through one 2+ month long strike only to do it again 2 years from now. Its not fair to students in general. I’d much rather have the university sort the shit out of the union now so they know better than to pull this kind of bs in the future.

  23. Here

    Another possible reason – I’m not sure how valid it is – is that some HR students need/should have certification. The HRPAO exams are usually in May I believe.

    However, I agree with most of you that we would have been better waiting.

  24. ram

    @ all
    i was away since after noon. just came home. Has there been any news about the negotiations or from the union’ side or the university? Just brief answers would suffice.
    Thank you.

  25. Tinfoil

    caitron,

    most of these students have classes in humanities as electives, or other majors. so when classes in these disciplines DO resume, TAs will have a good idea of who was willing to walk over their picket line to attend class. in other words: who said to them “i don’t give a fuck about you”

    I’m not saying that is right, because there are a lot of pressures on ug’s to do X, Y and Z – but I think you aren’t going to see TAs confronting students like “oh, i noticed you X’d the picketline” – that is more likely to manifest itself (consciously or not) in sterner marking of those people. Petty? Yes, but possible? – Highly.

  26. Ms Doan

    @ Timothy

    you are so rude

  27. ms doan is gay

    Read the name.

  28. Milky

    I’ve NO TAs in any of my classes so I’m glad to be going back! I never understood WHY we were affected in the first place!!! I assume they might make some exception further down to road so we can graduate BEFORE people start full-time jobs. Being business schools (both Atkinson and Schulich), i think internships and full-time positions are plans of majority of students and it makes sense for them to go back to school because it’s just too damaging for them to either not start work or break a contract or lose a year (because most students have already had full time jobs lined up! unlike…students…majoring in other academic areas).

  29. Dinasaur

    I am one of the 5000 students going back to class this Monday. Unfortunately York is using their students for a publicity stunt and it is unfair. I will be working towards my one year Bachelor of Education and out of my 7 classes only 2 of them will be taking place. Once the strike is over is when my other 5 classes will resume. My question is when will that be????
    I will also be sent into my placement in the TDSB (Toronto District School Board) teaching the students of our future. I am suppose to be learning how to become a teacher by attending classes at York….isn’t that how it works?? I guess I am suppose to learn how to become a future educator on my own. So then I ask, why is York taking my money????
    Also, I am an out of town student that has been paying to live on campus, the campus where my 2 classes will not be held. If I knew that my classes were not going to be held on campus I would not have wasted my money to live there.
    I am flying back to Toronto to attend these two classes, my placement and to raise a little hell. I feel that I am being used to create or cause a scene in order to end this strike.
    What York University does not care about is the money I will be using for food, transportation, and general living expenses to attend 2 classes and my placement. So consider yourself lucky if you are not going back to class. I am in the same boat as everyone else it is just taking me extra time and money to finish my degree. So take the time to enjoy your time off and if you can make some money. I will just be wasting mine.

  30. Jan

    @Milky

    Keep in mind that CUPE 3903 is not just TAs, its GAs contract faculty (profs) too, so some of your professors may not be at work either…Thats most likely why you guys were also affected by the strike, because contract faculty have their PHDs so you call them professor ____ but they have to reapply every year for their position at the school.

  31. Confused....

    @ Tinfoil or anyone else who knows…

    Sorry if my question has already been answered or implied but I noticed Tinfoil mentioned something about humanities … do you mean most humanities classes are also starting again on Monday or did I just read that incorrectly?

    If they are starting where do we find out if our classes are restarting or would I have been notified?

  32. Insider2

    I and most of the people I have talked to so far agree that it is a plan by York. But most also think York will benefit little to no from it, similat to the forced rat.

    I believe lentghening the strike by not negotiating in good fait from York’s side will only benefit the CUPE in the long run.

  33. tester

    Jan said: “Keep in mind that CUPE 3903 is not just TAs, its GAs contract faculty (profs) too, so some of your professors may not be at work either…Thats most likely why you guys were also affected by the strike, because contract faculty have their PHDs so you call them professor ____ but they have to reapply every year for their position at the school.”

    I have to point that that contract faculty are not professors, as indicated above in brackets. They have to reapply because they haven’t earned tenure.

    Please don’t call them professor, but rather “mr.”, “mrs./miss”, or “yo”

  34. Disappointed

    @ confused:

    Humanities classes are not starting monday…. it just means that if someone has one ADMS course, they’ll only do that and not their other courses at the same time. clearer?

  35. Disappointed

    Here’s another idea:
    the exam period for the business students is the week of feb. 16-20th… giving them 3 weeks of class. so maybe they expect the rest of us will be in school in 1 week .. and we have 2 weeks of fall semester and the exam periods will coincide? just a thought…

  36. caitron

    just got this update from YFS:

    Hey All,

    The unofficial word is that CUPE has significantly reduced is demands in its last offer to the York Administration. They are waiting for the Admin’s response and counter offer. Will keep you posted if we hear more.

    Jeremy

  37. Confused....

    @ Disappointed

    Thank you so much!

  38. Insider2

    @ caitron

    I think reduction of their demands was announced by CP24 and seveal other media sites officially today.

    But what mostpeople forget is teh REAL ISSUE which is the part-time faculty contract.

  39. HBK

    Whoa whoa whoa. Okay, I’m in Atkinson, but I’m not enrolled in any ADMS classes, but I do have ECON1000. So will I be going back? Someone let me know ASAP please!

  40. haha

    please end this strike!!!!!!!!!! IBEGU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  41. Aaron

    HBK – No. No, you will not.

  42. TRUTH

    The imperialist monster along with their ultra right media friends are trying to make CUPE look bad and take advantage of students; which they have been doing by getting their money and offering no service. This however is how these capitalist people do their job; by stealing money from the hard working students and offering them an inferior service

    Students have realized that and that’s why they are fiercely supporting CUPE in their quest for freedom, justice, equality and fairness. The paid tools here posing as students try to make things look different, but the fact remains that an overwhelming majority of students are standing up for CUPE. They demand the year to be canceled; this will make York to feel pressure and realize that there is no end without stopping this capitalistic habit of injustice. The goal is to get the year canceled and the students have agreed; the emails coming everyday to CUPE is a good indicator of it. Few capitalist students who are used to using others to their advantage may have few inconveniences, but the strong majority supports this plan and CUPE knows that well. The 2010 movement is also another reason to continue this fight

    Demand the Impossible
    Viva la Revolution

  43. Fidel

    Senior TRUTH

    I do not think Canada deserves great minds like you and all of your CUPE comrades. Come to Cuba and I persnally welcome you.

    Regards

    Fidel

  44. Fidel

    Oh I forgot:

    Demand the Impossible
    Viva la Revolution

  45. Hassan

    Breaking NEWS:

    “Mamdouh Shoukri welcomed today’s initiative by the Premier of Ontario to appoint the province’s Director of Dispute Resolution Services, Reg Pearson”

    Viva mahmood

  46. Hassan

    @ Mr. TRUTH and Dr. Fidel

    Thank you for your good news. I really hope this year will be cancelled so I can start fresh next year.

    Go Leafs Go!

  47. Timothy

    @ Truth

    you can’t make generalized assumptions on how many students support the union and how many don’t vast majority just wants back in the school and continue their education.

    You’re lucky we live in a capitalist democracy i’d shoot the shit out of you if i could.

    Im not willing to cancel the year and i doubt the admin would ever agree to it. Granted we’ve only done what 2 months and a week of school i didn’t bust my ass and spend hours of at the library for them to only cancel the year.

    fyi: By attending a post secondary facility you’ve already agreed to be a pawn of this capitalist injustive that you speak of. Thats the whole point of university. Everyone wants an up in the world that makes them stand out from the rest. No one wants to be equal and to say otherwise you’re only kidding yourself.

  48. Timothy

    hours at the library***

  49. Timothy

    injustice*

    i cant spell today.

  50. miz

    life goes on……………….boring…………………missing an education because some dumb fucks are greedy

  51. Hassan

    @ Timothy

    Thanks for your clarifications. So please tell me will this year be cancelled? I am really hoping for it and I am preparing a petition for it.

    Thank you

    Bye

  52. Hassan

    @ yes

    me too. we should all get together and cancel this year. It is tooooo late for classes…

  53. TRUTH

    @ Timothy,
    You’re a loud, rude, arrogant and violent imperialist who loves to feed on others and use them to your advantage. That however wont last long because the wind of change is already felt. CUPE comrades are hard at work fighting monsters like you who gets paid to come here and post threats to others. The generous paychecks from York must be hard at work considering your enthusiasm and passion with regard to this capitalist monster. As I said however, thins are changing…

    Demand the Impossible
    Viva la Revolution

  54. SumbanthSingh

    The Chinese chicken I had yesterday gave me AIDS…

  55. Aaron

    You’re not funny.

  56. Hassan

    @ SumbanthSingh

    Really? so will it put the summer term in jeopardy too? I am a bt worried.

  57. Hassan

    @ Aaron

    who? me?

  58. Timothy

    @ hassan

    i highly doubt it- in the end its all about money isnt it? The university will get more money by extending the year till the summer than they will by cancelling it out and only doing the summer semester.

  59. B

    “1. The first implication is that: Obviously, there would be plenty of students who decided not to resume class. I am predicting 5%-10% at the moment for Schulich and even greater for Atkinson. This will force University to provide accomodation and arrangement. This will result in additional cost in hiring lecturers / accomodating two different sections now.”

    You might want to actually read the remediation releases before making such a claim. Atkinson has already stated they will be videotaping lectures that resume on Monday. If you chose not to participate, that is your remediation. They aren’t bringing in profs or hiring lecturers for those who chose not to participate in resumption.

  60. Timothy

    @ truth

    ahahahahahha

    you live in a fucking bubble don’t yea?

  61. B

    Additionally, the senate has not approved a winter term for those students starting on Monday. Just remediation for the fall semester.

    Seriously YorkStrike, what were you thinking when you put up that anonymous poster’s post? It’s rampant and baseless speculation. It will only serve to fuel wild ideas among susceptible minds and further spread ignorance on issues surrounding this strike.

  62. cupe sucks

    suck my dick unionized bastards

    Unions are for lazy fucks that cannot compete.

  63. cupe sucks

    @ truth

    grow a fucking dick you queer

  64. SumbanthSingh

    Don’t worry. Canada will prevents the dirty filthy diseases imported from China. However the issue is that, US are dumb, they will be “happy” to bring the end to its own country.. well then Canada will be done as well 😀

    long live india.. at least a bit cleaner than china

  65. EdmondGorzon

    to SumbanthSingh

    What a loser… although things you say are sort of true.
    except the india part

  66. sooo

    Sumbanth,

    Indians use cow dung as a toothbrush. How is that cleaner than indian. For fuck sakes, indians are brown, the colour of dirt; contrary to clean. So hypothetically you are dirty.

  67. sooo

    How is that cleaner than china*

  68. sooo

    Ps. You are the colour of my poo.

  69. Hassan

    OMG the summer term is in JEOPARDY 😦

  70. SumbanthSingh

    Soooo..oo..ooo..oo..,

    Indians use cow dung as a toothbrush. Let us be realistic for a second here.. well.. no they dont 🙂 .
    now.. let us get back to our immature side shall we..
    Chinese people do as well… lmfao
    Well, india..china.. same dirty comtaminated place ever on Earth. Let’s both agree upon that now, good?

    china… two point five billions…. hmm
    are you going to prove to me that china is a very sanitary place?

  71. sooo

    nah, honestly i don’t care, i’m not even asian,

    good night

    ❤ lol

  72. Position Zero

    This is hilarious LMFAO.
    They are actually the two least sanitary place on this planet LOL.
    Hands up if any of you thinks this isn’t true..
    ..exactly hahahahahahahahaha so what the fuck

  73. Roon'd

    *looks above* Guess what guys, you can go back to school! Elementary school, that is.

  74. TRUTH

    I suggest you stop looking out for your interests and become a part of this everlasting circle of brotherhood. The fight for freedom has started and CUPE is leading it well into victory. Summer term aside, the plan is to cancel the year so the capitalists monsters at York can feel the pressure; this way we can defeat imperialism and bring justice to the students

    I invite all you paid tools to hear the voice of truth and become part of this movement. Your past will be forgotten by your comrades. Unlike the imperialists, we are strong believers in human sprit and equality and as such we will accept you with open arms. This ever lasting brotherhood will continue its strike to achieve the demand. Also the 2010 strike will be another opportunity to hand capitalism another defeat

    Demand the Impossible

    Viva la Revolution
    Go CUPE Go

  75. Yorker

    to SumbanthSingh

    You should have hanged yourself long time ago instead of coming here spreading such ridiculous comments.

  76. SumbanthSingh

    I should’ve what instead of what and what and a what now? LOOOL where the hell did thatt come fromm?

  77. Yorker

    to SumbanthSingh

    Are you trying to turn this site into a racial attack place? Go places to enjoy your stupidity.

  78. Milky

    @ Jan
    NONE of my profs are contract faculty or in CUPE, that’s why ALL of my classes are back in action!

  79. jacky

    is it likely we will return school on the 26th week?

  80. jacky

    except the ones listed

  81. Bob Sternman

    When will they cancel the year?

  82. Bob Sternman

    @ Jacky

    Why must you ask stupid questions? Do you honestly think we will be in school on Monday? Seriously?

  83. R

    hey guys.. just got this mail from YFS…. seems like a GOOD NEWS is on its way!! *Fingers Crossed*

    This message was written in a character set other than your own. If it is not displayed correctly, click here to open it in a new window.

    Dear fellow students,

    I just wanted to give you a quick update on the strike. The unofficial
    word is that CUPE has significantly reduced its demands in its last
    offer to the York Administration. They are waiting for the
    Administration’s response and counter offer. If we hear anything else
    from either side, we will keep you updated. Let’s hope that both sides
    will end the strike quickly, so all 50,000 students can return to our
    classrooms.

    If you have any questions please feel free to call me at 647-448-0576
    or e-mail me.

    Yours sincerely,
    Krisna Saravanamuttu
    VP Equity YFS

  84. R

    @B

    “Additionally, the senate has not approved a winter term for those students starting on Monday. Just remediation for the fall semester.”

    This is a verified statement. I have friends who have called in the assistant dean’s office and they cannot guarantee winter term.

  85. R

    “You might want to actually read the remediation releases before making such a claim. Atkinson has already stated they will be videotaping lectures that resume on Monday. If you chose not to participate, that is your remediation. They aren’t bringing in profs or hiring lecturers for those who chose not to participate in resumption.”

    I have actually emailed YorkStrike hours ago to put up my revised piece considering this new information about that no classes will be held (Schulich associate dean just confirmed this hours ago). However this piece has not been updated to reflect the latest information

  86. R

    This is actually my complete revision for item number 2

    —————————

    2. The senate can easily say that they will do whatever it takes to ensure students who don’t go to class will be protected. At the end of the day, uninformed student will decide not go to class and will that student be screwed? most certainly.

    The Schulich associate dean has confirmed to us (and Atkinson dean to other their students) that class WILL NOT be retaught and that

    “The nature of the course and the remaining work will differ from course to course, and therefore that nature of the alternate access will vary accordingly”

    Since the courses will not be retaught, there is really no protection policy whatsoever if Students refuse to cross the picket line. There’s not even a guarantee what kind of accommodation will be made (Exams? assignments? taped lecture?). Each of these efforts to accommodate is increasing the cost and burden to the university and instructor respectively.

    But to a more dramatic extent, it’s the uninformed students that are going to be relatively screwed. It’s a very tempting option indeed.

    Uninformed students will be at a great difficult situation once the strike resumes. There are two scenarios at the moment. Both requires the student to be in two semester altogether (overlapping semesters)

    1. Non-resuming students resume class after February 16th (Strike over when Exam period started for Fall)
    This mean that Winter term would have started for Schulich and Atkinson around March (not guaranteed but most likely). The students will be under pressure to finish their Fall (which by the way is not re-taught) while trying to catch up the already starting Winter. There is possibility that students will have to juggle with 7-8 courses on that semester if that student decided to come to Winter lecture while studying for Fall exam. This is an absolute nightmare.

    2. Non-resuming students resume class before February 16th (Strike over before Exam period started for Fall)
    It’s not as bad as previous scenario, but still bad. There will be some overlapping of Fall and Winter semester, but not as much. Still, students will be left no real alternative to lecture.

    So as you can see, having students to resume class at this point only creates nothing but unnecessary additional cost and burden. For students, there is no real advantage to return to class at this point. So who really gain at this point? you tell me.

  87. ram

    http://toronto.ctv.ca/servlet/an/local/CTVNews/20090123/York_offer_090123/20090123/?hub=TorontoNewHome

    The article says york is still silent even after the revised offer given by the union. So any hopes of optimism?

  88. B

    Of course uninformed students will have great difficulty. They let themselves be uninformed.

    This is University. No one babies you here. You have to be proactive about everything. If you do not seek knowledge, it won’t just descend upon you.

    Faculties that are resuming are also providing plenty of opportunities to get answers to questions. There are info sessions scheduled and a town hall with the Dean on Monday for Atkinson. Heck, I’m not an Atkinson student but have one ADMS course; I got 6 notices today about the town hall.

    The registrar has also stated that the moment the strike is over, they will be holding info sessions to help re-orient students, answer questions and address concerns.

    With some ADMS courses, there is really minimal costs and burden for the non in-class remediation. Any ADMS course taught online already has their remediation in place and their material available. It’s simply a matter of making it available – asking students to register for access.

    The university is in the process of implementing budget cuts because of the hit the endowment took. They can’t afford to be careless at the moment with finances. If resumption of classes for 5,000 was a costly burden, it wouldn’t have happened. The Senate is composed of individuals well aware/informed of budget constraints and university financing.

    Additionally, The Senate has not addressed a start to the winter term for students resuming classes on Monday. It is fairly premature to hypothesize such chaotic schedules when the ball isn’t even rolling on a winter term. The scheduled winter break after exams also seem to indicate that the faculties have not chosen to publicly address what will happen should – and this is an unlikely possibility – the strike be carried on into end of February/early March.

    There is apparently a recent bargaining update out there that seems to contradict the vaguely favorable message the YFS is sending out in that email. Hopefully a union member will share the barganing update. The YFS really doesn’t have the faintest of clues on anything and continue to provide undergrads with a disservice.

  89. Pally Wally

    It seems obvious that York is using the government to do its bargaining for it; the union had a slam dunk case and got screwed by a) recession hitting and b) bad PR.

  90. Curious Yorkie

    Ram,
    I have a feeling that this is propaganda from the Union’s side. Really, how many demands will they be willing to cut down on? And no matter what happens they will not take down the 2 year contract issue. York will just not agree to it. I read somewhere the new mediator mentioning that this process will take some time. He needs to first determine whether any negotiations can be done between the two parties or not and then work his way through it. I would say this would take *at least* another week and a half, if not more.
    CUPE knows its got a lot of upset faces to deal with… this is their sad attempt to try and do something to rebuild their reputation and put the blame on the employer.

  91. Pally Wally

    cupe isn’t doing this because they care about undergrad’s feelings about the strike’s length. that moron koopmans formed his group like 2 days into the strike; now that he’s back in class we’ll see how active he is.

  92. Delicia

    so what happens if york decides to cancel the year -? or term

    LOL – does that mean that fall term ppl are starting on monday would not count? lolol

    and its only the fall term. After we are done with fall – we have to wait for strike to be over to start winter

    which may nor happen till like march or not at all.

    And WHY did senate wait 3 moths to realise we Schulich and Atkinson do not use on CUPE ta’s as much as the rest of york? 3 months? really are Senate that stupid or is this ploy to force the Cupe to give in – lol it wont happen.

    Us 5000 are being used to bait CUPE – but please – why would they drop out just before the finish line?

  93. Meow Mix

    Cupe members still suck balls. Meow Mix runs this blog cuz im baller. FUCK EVERY1.

    To Delicia: get the hell out of here u dumbass

    Pally Wally: why are u alive

    Curious Yorkie: go fuck urself.

  94. Pally Wally

    I am starting to think the year should be cancelled.

  95. worried

    hi guys..
    I need to go to school on monday (I am not one of those 5000 students going back to class).
    I just wanted to know that, is it “safe” to cross picket lines?
    I hope they don’t threaten us…seriously…
    I am really worried.

  96. Your Aunt

    Alright so this is the latest news ABOUT THE YORK STRIKE!

    It appears that York has rejected the Union’s so called ‘modified’ demands!

    http://www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/story/LAC.20090124.TORBRIEF2424/TPStory/National

  97. WHO BENEFITS FROM THIS? THE INTERNATIONAL EXCHANGE STUDENTS THAT HAVE OPTED TO COMPLETE THEIR WINTER SEMESTERS AT SCHULICH. THE INT’L STUDENTS THAT HAVE PAID FOR THEIR FLIGHTS TO YORK, AND ARE ONLY SITTING AROUND LAYING EGGS WAITING FOR THIS CHILDISH STRIKE TO END.

  98. mike

    @ worried

    I used to do work at a muscle regeneration lab at york during november/december.

    They do not threaten you or anything. I did not drive by the picketline because york offers free parking elsewhere to avoid the picket lines.

    But don’t worry when i passed by everyday they don’t say anything. They don’t look at you, they are too focused on walking in a circle like zombies and stalling cars.

  99. G

    @ worried they don’t do anything to you at the most they give you a flyer I have crossed the picket lines on some occassions. If you drive they only slow you down but eventually let you through.

  100. F-Ed Up

    “Additionally, the senate has not approved a winter term for those students starting on Monday. Just remediation for the fall semester.”

    “so what happens if york decides to cancel the year -? or term

    LOL – does that mean that fall term ppl are starting on monday would not count? lolol”

    I’m in Consecutive Ed, but while “classes resume” for me and 4999 others according to the recent media coverage, in reality only ONE of my classes is resuming – and it’s a full-year course.

    Meaning: 1) Even the Fall term is not guaranteed for me and those at my site because my Fall courses aren’t even resuming until the strike ends.

    2) If Winter term gets canceled (which I still doubt but at this point I feel – perhaps irrationally, I admit – that anything is possible) this early return to class will have been a waste for me because the course will get canceled along with the Winter term.

    As some others have pointed out, for anyone among us 5000 who have even one Fall term CUPE prof, we will still face the remediation period for the Fall term AFTER the strike ends, regardless of the fact that we return to school this Monday.

    So it’s still pretty f*ed up. And I’m still pretty fed up.

  101. tester

    worried:

    crossing the line is fine. they cupe-strikers try to talk to you, but just ignore them

  102. Yuggoth

    MCGUINTY TO INITIATE BACK-TO-WORK LEGISLATION!!!!!

    JUST SAW IT ON CP24!

  103. Yuggoth

    “Dalton McGuinty will recall the legislature tomorrow, for the purpose of introducing Back-to-work legislation” directly from CP24.

  104. I got this email @ 12:05a.m.
    Dear fellow students,
    I just wanted to give you a quick update on the strike. The unofficial word is that CUPE has significantly reduced its demands in its last
    offer to the York Administration. They are waiting for the Administration’s response and counter offer. If we hear anything else from either side, we will keep you updated. Let’s hope that both sides will end the strike quickly, so all 50,000 students can return to our classrooms.

    If you have any questions please feel free to call me at 647-448-0576 or e-mail me.

    Yours sincerely,
    Krisna Saravanamuttu
    VP Equity YFS

  105. BTW Legislation on Sunday!

    It’s Yuggoth here. I don’t know how to make an individual post (anyone know?) but read my above posts, we could be in school this week!!!

  106. Yuggoth

    Finally the government is stepping in and basically saying “you guys obviously are at an impasse, so we’re going to do something for the grreater good.”

  107. Confused and Exasperated

    Yeah Yugoth is right, 1PM tomorrow they are sitting down to put through back to work legislation.

  108. Confused and Exasperated

    It’s not on CP24’s website, but it said it in the little ticket box on CP24

  109. Confused and Exasperated

    McGuinty is making a speech at noon, Pearson says there is no way the sides will meet or come to an agreement.

  110. F-Ed Up

    holy smokes, is this for real? link?

  111. Confused and Exasperated

    Turn to CP24, they just covered it for a while, it hasn’t been updated on the website yet, but it definately seems liek this is happening.

  112. Yuggoth

    IT’S FOR REAL. IT’S ALL OVER THE NEWS ON CP24. MORE UPDATES SOON…

  113. Confused and Exasperated

    Didn’t they say that if CUPE gets forced back to work, they probably will end up with a worse deal than the university offered them? I doubt that would be much fun for CUPE.

  114. Yuggoth

    IT’S A HUGE RISK BECAUSE THEY’LL HAVE TO ACCEPT WHAT THE GOV’T GIVES THEM.

  115. mike

    What day do people speculate we will be back in class?

  116. Confused and Exasperated

    Don’t know yet, there is gonna be a press conference at noon and legislature will be back tomorrow at 1, so could be early next week.

  117. mike

    Considering this bwtl does get passed.

  118. Confused and Exasperated

    I’m pretty sure it will, I don’t see it getting shut down if they are going through all the effort to put legislature back in session, I guess there is a chance, but I doubt it.

  119. Dear fellow students,

    I just wanted to give you a quick update on the strike. The unofficial
    word is that CUPE has significantly reduced its demands in its last
    offer to the York Administration. They are waiting for the
    Administration’s response and counter offer. If we hear anything else
    from either side, we will keep you updated. Let’s hope that both sides
    will end the strike quickly, so all 50,000 students can return to our
    classrooms.

    If you have any questions please feel free to call me at 647-448-0576
    or e-mail me.

    Yours sincerely,
    Krisna Saravanamuttu
    VP Equity YFS

    source: email

  120. check your york email guys!

  121. bored and pissed off

    has anyone watched the last ctv news update about York Strike?

    Pearson says the union and university are in a position of clear deadlock, McGuinty’s calling back the gov’mt and they might be issuing BTWL…

  122. Yuggoth

    I think we will go back, considering that it looks like most of the politiciatns (Shurman et al. and McGuinty in calling this thing) seem to be in favour of legislature now.

  123. bored and pissed off

    Oh… I read some of the above posts.. I guess I’m not the first to see this… oops 🙂

  124. Confused and Exasperated

    get with the times vino, anyway if we’ve learnt one thing over this strike its that YFS are useless. I’ve never voted in the York elections before, this year I will definately not vote for them, you guys deserve to lose your jobs immediately.

  125. @ confused and exasperated

    I agree with you on that! However, it was just an email sent to me. Who knows, maybe its true…

  126. Confused and Exasperated

    Oh cool, I thought you were a messenger. But yeah, its probably just old news, looks like we’re going back to school and they are getting forced back

  127. Confused and Exasperated

    a messenger for yfs that is

  128. This seems to be an extremely emotional blog, so I think I’ll be careful as to my reply.

    I just want to say it’s disappointing that education has so many barriers. It is organized absolutely horribly.

  129. Yuggoth

    @pATRICK1979

    YES, AND AS FARCES GO, IT COULDN’T HAVE ENDED IN A BETTER (AND MORE FARCICAL) WAY.

  130. Katie

    I empathized with the CUPE members, in that, as a union, it is their perogative to ensure the reasonable well-being of their members.

    Duly note my use of the PAST TENSE, as that was well over two months ago.

    The union’s eminent persue of their desires, NOT needs, at the expense of the education of 50,000 students speaks volumes about the type of organization that totes “fair treatment”, “livable wages” and the “evils of bureaucracy”. As graduate students, as so indicated by the noun, you are a STUDENT seeking EDUCATION, and the position of a TA is to supplement your income while providing a practical application for the skills and knowledge that you may (or may not) have gained in your theoretical studies. If you seek a higher level of income – GET A REAL JOB.

    If you so choose to respond to the above, that just proves your ignorance. =)

    As for the Schulich and Atkinson faculties resuming classes, I wholy agree that this complicates matters tenfold. But the fact that the Schulich School of Business does, indeed, uphold a well reknowned reputation beyond the walls of York, does give it a significant amount of leverage. Don’t hate.

Leave a Reply

