YFS and York Relationship Heating up

So here is the Facebook message that has been circulating, originally released by YFS:

1. CUPE 3903 has come up with a new offer for the York Administration. This offer will cost much less then the original offer but the York Administration is still refusing to meet with CUPE. At their last GMM CUPE also decided to allow the Bargaining Committee to put forward negotiating points without prior approval of the Executive Committee. If these points are agreed to they will be brought directly to the CUPE membership. this should help speed up the process.

2. We have set up a meeting with the CUPE Executive for tomorrow morning. We will be meeting with them to discuss steps to help end the strike.

3. The York Administration has finally set up a time for us to meet with them. We will be meeting with them on Wednesday to discuss getting them back to the bargaining table.

4. We want to hear from you. The YFS Town Hall will take place tomorrow at 1PM in Founders Assembly Hall. We have invited members of the York Administration and CUPE to be there as well to address your concerns. To date we have not recieved confirmation for the Administration but members of CUPE will be there.

Please let me now if you have any questions.

 

A York Media Relations official responded with this:

 

I do not know where you are getting the information that you have posted in item number one but I insist that you correct your posting immediately and acknowledge your mistake.

There has been no new offer made to York Administration by CUPE nor has one been brought forward by the mediator as of 6:55pm Monday November 24, 2008. It is irresponsible to be interfering in the Labour Relations process at such a sensitive juncture!

Secondly, re point number 3, re YFS’s request for a meeting with Rob Tiffin, VP Students and the President, Dr Shoukri which was made on Wednesday, November 19. A time in response to that request by YFS was proposed for last Thursday the 20th at 4:30 pm. Both the President and the VP arrived at the appointed place but no one from YFS attended let alone responded at the time or since. The President and VP both waited till 5pm before they left.

Finally, point number 4, refers to your invitation sent out to administration was received this afternoon in the President’s Office and a response is forthcoming.

It has also come to my attention that you have posted item number one on the YFS site. Again I insist that you correct the record in the interests of York’s 50,000 students.

[name censored]
Director, Media Relations
York University

 

The YFS representative then responded with this:

 

Hi [name censored],

Thank you for your email. I am glad to see the York Administration is monitoring our facebook group with such vigor.

A new offer was put forward to the mediator by CUPE. Hopefully the Administration will review this offer and agree to meet with CUPE as soon as they can so the strike can end as quickly as possible. I’m not sure if you are on the University bargaining committee so maybe you have not seen the offer. At this point the Administration is not meeting with CUPE. If you can confirm that the York Administration is willing to meeting CUPE about the newest offer that would be great news for all of us.

At no point did we get a confirmation from the York Administration about a meeting time. In fact we received an email from Ken Fasciano stating that the President was not available and that we should set up a time with VP Tiffin. We did not receive an email response with a time or location. Perhaps that email was lost but I find it odd that both VP Tiffin and President Shoukri would go to a meeting at a time and location that was unconfirmed. Regardless, we do have a meeting with both VP Tiffin and President Shourkri this Wednesday. I will say however that it did take several requests to have a meeting. Our first request was denied right away.

I am glad that the Administration will be responding to our request to attend the Townhall. Many students have questions and it would be great if a representative could attend. I hope that the response is favourable.

I will make a quick correction that the new CUPE offer was submitted to the mediator, not the Admin and that we are waiting to see if the York Administration will now be willing to meet with CUPE. I will also take this opportunity to inform the group that the York Administration is monitoring the group.

Have a nice evening.

[name censored]

 

Whoa! So I guess the recent developments are a touchy development for both the Admin and YFS. It will be interesting to see what comes of this Town Hall meeting.

Anyways, to put some of you to rest.

The strike will most likely NOT end this week so calm down everybody. There is no date set between the University and the Union. The University mediator does have bargaining power but if some major break through was in the works the University would be meeting personally with the Union as a token gesture. 

 

Good night everyone

I have removed the names of both parties for confidentiality purposes.

YorkStrike2008

54 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

54 responses to “YFS and York Relationship Heating up

  1. Commuter

    The author of that YFS message has reneged on what he posted:

    “In my last message I made a mistake in saying that the York Administration is not willing to me with CUPE based on their last offer. The offer was submitted to the moderator not the Admin and they have not yet reviewed it. Hopefully the new offer will be enough to get them back to the table.”

  2. jack

    Awesome post!

    Thank you for putting everyone at ease.

    I shall finish working out and then go to bed.

    Essay times tomorrow. 🙂

  3. Hullo

    Awesome. That means no school for another week :)… I can really use this time as I am getting my car fixed.

  4. ShaunnyB

    So I’m confused, that message is all bull? Or we think it’s real? Or we don’t know? I have dozens of friends who come to me for info, I come to this blog for info, and now even I’m lost!

  5. Commuter

    I think YFS point #1 is bull (because there was a correction issued) but the rest is ok.

  6. yorkstrike2008

    Comment originally posted in wrong section — Original Poster: “Blah”

    Hey all,

    Below is my response to the email posted above. Mathew how did you get that email? Did the Administration forward it to you?

    Hi Alex,

    Thank you for your email. I am glad to see the York Administration is monitoring our facebook group with such vigor.

    A new offer was put forward to the mediator by CUPE. Hopefully the Administration will review this offer and agree to meet with CUPE as soon as they can so the strike can end as quickly as possible. I’m not sure if you are on the University bargaining committee so maybe you have not seen the offer. At this point the Administration is not meeting with CUPE. If you can confirm that the York Administration is willing to meeting CUPE about the newest offer that would be great news for all of us.

    At no point did we get a confirmation from the York Administration about a meeting time. In fact we received an email from Ken Fasciano stating that the President was not available and that we should set up a time with VP Tiffin. We did not receive an email response with a time or location. Perhaps that email was lost but I find it odd that both VP Tiffin and President Shoukri would go to a meeting at a time and location that was unconfirmed. Regardless, we do have a meeting with both VP Tiffin and President Shourkri this Wednesday. I will say however that it did take several requests to have a meeting. Our first request was denied right away.

    I am glad that the Administration will be responding to our request to attend the Townhall. Many students have questions and it would be great if a representative could attend. I hope that the response is favourable.

    I will make a quick correction that the new CUPE offer was submitted to the mediator, not the Admin and that we are waiting to see if the York Administration will now be willing to meet with CUPE. I will also take this opportunity to inform the group that the York Administration is monitoring the group.

    Have a nice evening.

    Jeremy

    From Union to Meet with Mediator Tomorrow, 2008/11/24 at 3:55 PM

  7. Curious Yorkie

    This is absolutely ridiculous. So this means that today the meeting with Admin and CUPE 3903 did not happen at all.

    Every effing info that we get from York and the Union is fabricated. 99.9% of the time we do not get any info at all. We are just supposed to know everything on our own. Good job York and CUPE 3903.

    And YFS is messed up beyond thought. INSANE!

  8. Commuter

    CUPE 3903 was supposed to meet with the mediator today, not the administration.

    Alex Bilyk (apparently) said that “There has been no new offer made to York Administration by CUPE nor has one been brought forward by the mediator as of 6:55pm Monday November 24, 2008.”

    Then YFS says “The offer was submitted to the moderator not the Admin and they have not yet reviewed it. ”

    So who knows.

    Then

  9. The union barganing team did meet with the mediator today. The administration has not yet reviewed what the union presented to the mediator as their renewed proposals/demands etc. All the rest is fluff and slightly confusing and irrelevant. :S

  10. Disillusioned

    I just don’t understand why the administration isn’t waiting with baited breath to meet with the mediator. I mean, if we all know what’s going on, they must know before than we do and more details. If they want the strike to end why didn’t they meet with the mediator first thing this morning then set up a meeting with the union? If this is stressing us out so much (me for sure) it must be stressing out the administration at York. This isn’t good publicity, there is going to be major complaints from parents and students, and morale is going to be horrible when the strike does end.

  11. Curious Yorkie

    While I have respect and sympathy for the TAs and the contract faculty at York, I disagree with CUPE 3903. When the strike began, I read a post by a TA on the Star or National Post saying that not everyone voted for the Union to go on strike. The Union is very manipulative. While the demands would definitely benefit the TAs and faculty, they are bringing a bad name to everyone and disgracing education. On top of it, they are giving out false information to everyone. How immature and irresponsible on their part?

  12. The Man With The Plan

    Oh man, i had an essay due this thursday, but i am glad it looks like the strike isn’t gonna end. Hopefully, we won’t go back to school till the new year (Jan) because it would suck if we would have to go back in the middle of Dec.

  13. MR Two

    ok, looks like we’re on strike until at least dec 8th… I really hope we just start back up in jan at this point, they could at least be that considerate to us considering that we’re the ones getting shafted the most out of this entire ordeal. Well, from what we’ve seen, it’s pretty obvious that neither side really cares about us at all…

  14. Tom

    @ MR Two:

    Why the 8th?

  15. Confused

    I’m just curious as to why admin isn’t trying to meet with CUPE?? Is there really something more important happening at the university right now that is calling for their attention more than the strike that has put thousands of students in this hole of unknown? Students are not getting any information, and what information we do get is misinformation. Frankly, I want the strike to end so that I won’t still be in school in May when I should be working to pay for school next year.
    Why isn’t admin or CUPE getting us any information so that we’re not getting stressed out about school work and for paying for next year, and why aren’t they trying to end this thing?!

  16. MR Two

    if it’s not fully settled this week (which it seems like it won’t be), then that rules out the beginning of next week. I think the earliest that could happen would be a meeting again next week to hammer more stuff out, then a second meeting on maybe the 4th or 5th to settle everything.

    I wonder though, how long until we can safely assume that we start back in Jan?

  17. Tom

    Ah ok, fair enough. We’ll see, I suppose. The University of Windsor ended their strike in 2 1/2 weeks and gave one day’s warning to their students from what I understand, so I’m just somewhat concerned from that perspective.

    I’m curious if York would accept a petition for deferral (so I move everything off to next year) – just so I can get certain aspects of my life moving now. I could pick up a full time job or go study abroad for a bit if I could ensure that I wouldn’t have to quit/come back a few days later, and I have no problem with moving everything off a year…

  18. cabby

    k so york admin responded to that with the sole purpose of shooting down any hopes anyone would have about getting back asap.
    in all fairness i don’t even mind being out of school now.. i see my girlfriend more, i’m working more, and my suv is currently out of commission — life’s great.
    heading back is gonna happen eventually but i hope they can hold off until after the holidays… i don’t feel like writing my exams right when i get back.

  19. Mhm

    exams wouldnt be right when we get back.. half the material hasnt been taught yet, so i doubt theyd say “oh yeah you have an exam in a week, have fun…” that’s just unreasonable.. either way im sure exams are in the new year, if anything we’d just have classes and such before the holidays

  20. haris

    I HAV A FLIGHT BOOKED TO LEBANON ON THE 11TH OF DECEMBER!!!
    I’m an international student and I haven’t been home (seen my family) in 2 years!!! My exams were scheduled to be done on the 9th, hence the travel arrangement. I know many students who have made travel arrangements prior to the strike. It is totally unfair that we have to suffer over an issue which is totally beyond our control! I hope and pray they start school in january, failing which, I’M SCREWED.
    😦

  21. JMac

    I am not sure how anyone could expect administration to react any differently to that BS on the home page of this site.

    Whoever is responsible (union backer) has no idea what kind of damage they can do with that kind of nonsense BS.

    The students who are being affected by this strike don’t deserve that kind of attempted manipulation. They deserve the truth.

    The longer this strike continues, the lower prices fall, and the lower the cost of living drops. You may be wishing you had accepted the York offer in the first place.

    This stoppage could end and people called back to work within 24 hours. Don’t be fooled into thinking the earliest you could return to class would be Dec. 8.

    York students deserve to be able to finish this semester before Christmas, not have it dragged out into January. It’s pretty pathetic to hear people come on here and say they hope they don’t go back until January. That’s pretty selfish. You should be pressuring the 2 sides to get you back to class right now! – not make it seem like you have all the time in the world….

  22. JMac

    Haris, I wasn’t referring to you in my post. It was to those who are just enjoying the holiday…

  23. Tom

    Not sure if you were referring to my post either, in that case; I’m simply trying to make the most of my time and feel I would be better suited either working full time or studying abroad for the rest of the year than waiting for them to come to a conclusion. (I realize it’s entirely possible you’re not referring to me either)

  24. Curious Yorkie

    JMac,

    I agree with you. While this strike is a much needed relief from school pressure, its really not doing any of us any good. I am a grad student at York (not a part of the Union and NOT a TA). I attended York for my undergrad as well and this is the first time in my university life that I am having semestered courses. They were supposed to end in December, a new session was supposed to start in January, with an international fieldwork lined up next summer. If this semester gets extended to january, and those courses get pushed back into the summer, I am losing valuable fieldwork time, which is extremely important for me to write my thesis.

    We deserve to know whats going on…how we will be compensated for our lost times and studies, and most importantly we deserve the right to know the truth about these pointless negotiations. I hate taking sides between the Union and Admin…but I think the Union is very manipulative and is pushing its demands very selfishly. Take a look at this:

    http://www.yorknothostage.com/Home/unsilenced-voices

  25. AL

    No sch0ol ’till January Please!

  26. Mhm

    who cares who he’s referring to? i don’t mean to be rude but people are different… some will worry and do work, others will party and slack off… that’s life.. Even those enjoying the time off propably want to get back to class, but are more relaxed to just use the time they have off as they wish.. And i don’t really see how “pressuring the 2 sides” has got us anywhere this far .. so clearly it’s up to them to work it out, we are merely stuck in between

  27. YorkStudent

    @ Haris
    I also have a flight for home on december 5th! 😦 all of my courses were full year and now I donno whats going to happen to all the money I paid for the flight and the mid way hotel reservation 😦

  28. Jay

    I agree with you mhm

    The only thing I have to say about your two types of people (I’m kind of in between) but your last sentence is exactly what everybody, unfortunately, has to get through their heads. WE ARE STUCK IN THE MIDDLE. There is very little to nothing that we can do. Any politician, news reporter or any one important is not trying to help you, they are trying to further their own goals. Its sad but true. Heck, they talked about it in the Provincial Parliament last week, thanks to the M.P, and nothing came of it. But, I bet you a lot of people will vote for him from York because he brought our case to McGuinty.

    AS Mhm, along with many others have said, just sit back and ‘enjoy the ride’ . I think it’s best that we all try to make the best out of these events. Sitting here, panicking and ripping your hair won’t do you any good.

    And honestly, without being rude here, I think people should stop throwing out dates. When it comes down to us, all of us have no idea whats going on (except the T.As that post here) I mean, how can any of us judge this proposal when we have NO IDEA whats on it? I think that people throwing dates around are making others panic, and believe it should stop

    Just my $0.02

  29. Guess Who

    Pressuring the two sides?

    How much more do you want us to pressure the two sides?

    Undergrad students have tried taking this to the highest level. Students have held rallies, protests etc. etc. and done everything they could to pressure the two sides.

    What came off it? Absolutely nothing. Neither CUPE nor administration were affected.

    After all those tries if you still think you can pressure both sides, then that’s stupidity; because obviously none of them care.

    The administration doesn’t want to talk to the union and the union is clubbing as if their demands had been met.

    What’s the point? The least the university can do is tell us to go back home so that we can be with our loved ones since everyone knows this strike is going to be a long one.

    I’m an international student and I curse each day that passes by because that’s one day less I could have spent back home.

    Just let us go back home if you’re not interested in sorting things out!

  30. MR Two

    @ Jmac

    I’m making the best of the situation for myself, I’m sure others are as well. I’m catching up on my assignments and keeping up with readings while getting in extra hours at work so I have some more disposable income during the school year.

    That’d be nice and all if we could restart Wednesday, but from the looks of it, it’s not going to happen. It would have been nice to just fire everyone and re-offer jobs back like President Reagan did, but my point is that anything like this should have been done MUCH EARLIER (ie. before we lost our reading week) as damage control. Given that we barely have a voice in this argument, and from what little info we’ve got it looks as though we have at least another week of strike remaining. In the interest of students relying on seasonal jobs for income and those with travel plans booked from before the strike, I’d rather just finish off in January and compress the second semester. Taking a side for either could technically be selfish – what benefits some hurts others. Take your pick.

  31. MR Two

    After rereading what I’ve been writing, maybe I’m just so cynical and jaded about this whole matter that I just don’t really care anymore =__=

  32. @YorkStudent.

    E-mail your professors and tell them your situation. I have numerous friends who are in the same boat as you, and they said that their prof’s ALL said “Don’t worry about it, we’ll make up for lost time in Jan if need be”.

  33. sam

    i think that if school doesnt start by monday it would be unfair to go back anytime after that because people have plans and no one wants to study over the christmas break, to much going on. They should just start in January and extend the school year into may its not really a big deal if we finish end of may.

  34. nellyli

    So is Dec 1st the confirmed date of us going back to school? or is just still a rumour?

  35. Curious Yorkie

    @ Nellyli,
    How can we go back to school on dec 1st when the two parties havent even met yet. Its definitely still a rumour.

  36. sam

    rumour, just an guess by most, everyone is just speculating right now because if the union has dropped their demands enough, everyone thinks that the admin will accept. I beg to differ because I don’t think the union will cave in so much, as they were a world apart before and now maybe just a little less then that which is still to much.

  37. L

    I jut wanted to put my two cent in.

    I do understand that some people want to go back to school in january, and that it wouldn’t be a big deal to extend the year. Yet, for alot of people it really screws them over, myself included.
    I’m scheduled to go study abroad next semester, leaving the 2nd week of january. If we don’t go back until January, I wont be able to study abroad or if I do get to, I will be doing all of my tests abroad. Going back any time before January would let any students who are studying abroad next semester finish all their courses. Also, for many students, school ends and a full time summer job begins. If the school year is extended, then those job can’t begin and therefore the money that alot of people need to get by or the only income that some people get during the year is gone.

    So i understand if people dont want to study for exams over christmas break to enjoy your break but remember you have all the time now to do whatever you want, to study and party.

    Please do not take this the wrong way, I’m just voicing my opinion

  38. HEY GUYS,

    Update on the York Website. Would probably do better on the front page but here you go 🙂

    http://webapps.yorku.ca/NegotiationsUpdates/doc/Communication8.pdf

  39. sam

    The university just put up a post about whats going on they are meeting thursday with the union in hopes of getting thing done. Although york has already stressed in the post that the union must have dropped their expectations of the 41% increase or they will continue to offer binding arbitration which the union is firm on rejecting.

  40. nellyli

    thank you for the answers. guys.
    I just saw the new update information on York.ca and it showed that York will meet with Union on Nov 27th in hopes of trying to solve the problem. but it seems that york is still holding on the binding arbitration. Errrr, it doesn’t look good to me.

  41. nellyli

    Ok, Sam is faster than me. 🙂

  42. pissed studnet

    @nellyli ,

    can you give us the link of what you saw?

  43. Haha I saw the same thing as you guys did. I posted it above but my comment is under moderation right now because I put the link in there…lol

  44. pp

    Okay so i have an exam scheduled for dec 2nd. The prof told us to keep up with readings during the strike so we can just continue from where we would have been had there been no strike. Is he allowed to do this? Also, assuming he doesn’t extend the exam date and our exam is held as soon as we get back he wants to include everything we SHOULD have read had there been no strike…is this allowed?

  45. Soraya

    @ pp,

    did you ever hear back from out hist prof regarding the essay?

  46. kubbie_bear

    since the exam schedule is set until dec 23rd can we technically have classes until then? and would york do that?

  47. pp

    @ soraya

    due when we get back.

  48. Soraya

    @ pp

    in class or tutorial? sorry. so many questions :p

  49. yorkstrike2008

    Sorry Elle

    The system thinks your post was a virus with so little words and a link…

    Thanks for the link…I have put it up with my 2 cents.

  50. pp

    @ Soyaya,

    Not too sure…I’m guessing whichever comes first.

  51. Oh no worries!!

    😀 I like your two cents

  52. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

  53. 1 out of 50,000

    The YFS and some of the Admin met today. Anyone know what that was about? Their are very vague details on the livejournal group.

  54. Take your flights. I am, and so are many professors and strikng CUPE members. We can not “suffer academic consequences” as a result of the strike, and I can assure you that enough students and faculty will leaving in December to ensure that we will be accomodated upon our return. I have two professors who made clear at the outset of the strike that they would be leaving as planned for Christmas come hell or highwater. Myself… I’m out of here on the 15th.

Leave a Reply

